FLYWHEELCLOCK
Company · AXP · Year ended Dec 31, 2025 (10-K filed Feb 6, 2026)

How American Express makes money, live: fees, interest and where it goes

A card company that earns 52% of its revenue from merchants, 14% from card fees and 24% from interest.

Revenue (net of interest expense) since Jan 1 projected from annual 10-K averages
$2,290 a second
0 since you opened this page$2,290 a second— a day
Spending on its cards$1.67T
Cards in force86.6M
Employees~76,800
Dividends per share$3.28
Discount revenue (merchant fees)
$1,186/s
$1,186 a second · 0 since you opened this page
Net card fees
$317/s
$317 a second · 0 since you opened this page
Net income (profit)
$344/s
$344 a second · 0 since you opened this page

Each counter = 2025 total from the 10-K ÷ 31,536,000 seconds. These are averages, not real-time. Revenue here is "total revenues net of interest expense", the 10-K's headline revenue line. 1

The short answer

American Express earns 52% of its revenue from fees merchants pay when cards are used (discount revenue), 24% from interest on balances (net of its own interest cost) and 14% from annual card fees (derived). 1

Where revenue comes from1

Total revenues net of interest expense 2025 by reported segment.

  • U.S. Consumer Services$34.81B48.0%
  • Commercial Services$16.93B23.3%
  • International Card Services$13.00B17.9%
  • Global Merchant & Network Services$7.76B10.7%
  • Corporate & other (negative, not drawn)−$270.00M–

Total revenue (net): $72.23B

Where pre-tax profit comes from1

Pretax income 2025 by segment, the measure Amex reports for each segment. Shares are of the four operating segments (16,049).

  • U.S. Consumer Services$6.81B42.4%
  • Commercial Services$3.67B22.9%
  • International Card Services$1.60B10.0%
  • Global Merchant & Network Services$3.97B24.7%
  • Corporate & other (negative, not drawn)−$2.25B–

Pretax income: $13.79B

Global Merchant & Network Services: 10.7% of segment revenue but 24.7% of segment pretax income (derived, shares of the four operating segments). International Card Services: 18.0% of revenue, 10.0% of pretax income.

American Express reports segment pretax income, not operating income. Corporate & other (−2,254 pretax, −270 revenue) is not drawn; it brings the four segments' 16,049 down to the consolidated 13,795. US$ millions. 1

Money in, money out

A card company earns from merchants, cardholder fees and interest, and pays for funding, credit losses, rewards and marketing. Values in US$ billions.

Income statement, 2025 live flow

Scroll sideways to follow the money →

Discount revenue (merchant fees) → Gross revenue †: $37.4BNet card fees → Gross revenue †: $10.0BService fees & other revenue → Gross revenue †: $7.5BInterest income → Gross revenue †: $25.6BGross revenue † → Interest expense: $8.2BGross revenue † → Net revenue: $72.2BNet revenue → Credit loss provisions: $5.3BNet revenue → Card Member rewards: $18.4BNet revenue → Business development: $6.5BNet revenue → Card Member services: $6.1BNet revenue → Marketing: $6.3BNet revenue → Salaries & benefits: $9.0BNet revenue → Other expenses: $7.0BNet revenue → Pre-tax income: $13.8BPre-tax income → Income tax: $3.0BPre-tax income → Net income: $10.8BNet income → Share buybacks: $5.3BNet income → Common dividends paid: $2.3BNet income → Kept in the business †: $3.3BDiscount revenue (merchant fees)$37.4B$1.2K · $1.2K/sNet card fees$10.0B$317 · $317/sService fees & other revenue$7.5B$237 · $237/sInterest income$25.6B$812 · $812/sGross revenue †$80.5B †$2.6K · $2.6K/sInterest expense$8.2B$261 · $261/sNet revenue$72.2B$2.3K · $2.3K/sCredit loss provisions$5.3B$167 · $167/sCard Member rewards$18.4B$584 · $584/sBusiness development$6.5B$205 · $205/sCard Member services$6.1B$192 · $192/sMarketing$6.3B$198 · $198/sSalaries & benefits$9.0B$286 · $286/sOther expenses$7.0B$222 · $222/sPre-tax income$13.8B$437 · $437/sIncome tax$3.0B$94 · $94/sNet income$10.8B$344 · $344/sShare buybacks$5.3B$168 · $168/sCommon dividends paid$2.3B$72 · $72/sKept in the business †$3.3B †$103 · $103/s

US$ millions from the 10-K: 37,401 + 9,993 + 7,471 + 25,598 = 80,463 (derived) before interest expense of 8,234, leaving 72,229. Expenses: rewards 18,409 + business development 6,457 + Card Member services 6,057 + marketing 6,252 + salaries 9,016 + other 6,987 = 53,178. 72,229 − 5,256 provisions − 53,178 = 13,795 pre-tax. 1 Net income 10,833 → buybacks 5,311 (statement of shareholders' equity) + common dividends 2,271 (cash flow statement) + kept 3,251 (10,833 − 5,311 − 2,271, derived; ignores $58M of preferred dividends and other equity changes). The 10-K says buybacks plus dividends were $7.6B, about 71% of net income available to common shareholders. A bank's cash flow is mostly loans and deposits, so cash flow is not shown. 1

Per-second basis: Fiscal-year total ÷ seconds in the year. American Express's fiscal year is the calendar year 2025 = 365 days = 31,536,000 seconds. Each counter shows that per-second rate × seconds since Jan 1 in your time zone. The counters are projections from that average, not live sales. † = derived (calculated from filed figures, math in the note).

Every node and flow as text (20 nodes, 19 flows)
NodeFiscal yearPer second
Discount revenue (merchant fees)$37.40B$1.2K/s
Net card fees$9.99B$317/s
Service fees & other revenue$7.47B$237/s
Interest income$25.60B$812/s
Gross revenue † †$80.46B$2.6K/s
Interest expense$8.23B$261/s
Net revenue$72.23B$2.3K/s
Credit loss provisions$5.26B$167/s
Card Member rewards$18.41B$584/s
Business development$6.46B$205/s
Card Member services$6.06B$192/s
Marketing$6.25B$198/s
Salaries & benefits$9.02B$286/s
Other expenses$6.99B$222/s
Pre-tax income$13.79B$437/s
Income tax$2.96B$94/s
Net income$10.83B$344/s
Share buybacks$5.31B$168/s
Common dividends paid$2.27B$72/s
Kept in the business † †$3.25B$103/s
FlowFiscal yearPer second
Discount revenue (merchant fees) → Gross revenue †$37.40B$1.2K/s
Net card fees → Gross revenue †$9.99B$317/s
Service fees & other revenue → Gross revenue †$7.47B$237/s
Interest income → Gross revenue †$25.60B$812/s
Gross revenue † → Interest expense$8.23B$261/s
Gross revenue † → Net revenue$72.23B$2.3K/s
Net revenue → Credit loss provisions$5.26B$167/s
Net revenue → Card Member rewards$18.41B$584/s
Net revenue → Business development$6.46B$205/s
Net revenue → Card Member services$6.06B$192/s
Net revenue → Marketing$6.25B$198/s
Net revenue → Salaries & benefits$9.02B$286/s
Net revenue → Other expenses$6.99B$222/s
Net revenue → Pre-tax income$13.79B$437/s
Pre-tax income → Income tax$2.96B$94/s
Pre-tax income → Net income$10.83B$344/s
Net income → Share buybacks$5.31B$168/s
Net income → Common dividends paid$2.27B$72/s
Net income → Kept in the business †$3.25B$103/s
Pre-tax margin
19.1%
13,795 ÷ 72,229 (derived) 1
Effective tax rate
21.5%
2,962 ÷ 13,795 (derived) 1
Discount revenue rate
2.24%
Share of billed business; 2.29% in 2023 1
Credit loss provisions
$5.3B
Money set aside for bad loans and charge-offs 1

The flywheel

American Express's own description of its model: card spend earns merchant fees, part of which goes back to Card Members as rewards and services to drive more spending. Each step cites the 10-K. These are stated aims and filed results, not measured cause and effect.

American Express's loop, 2025

Scroll sideways to see the whole loop →

2.24% discount rate$18.4B rewardscard fees $10.0B12.5M new cards1. Card spend$1,669.8B billed2. Discount revenue$37.4B3. Rewards & servicesRewards $18.4B4. More cards, more spend86.6M cards (+4%)
  1. Card spend $1,669.8B billed. Billed business was 1,669.8 billion (+8%). The 10-K says the business model focuses on "generating revenues primarily by driving spending on our cards and secondarily through finance charges and fees".1
  2. Discount revenue $37.4B. Discount revenue was 37,401, equal to 2.24% of billed business (2.27% in 2024), the largest of the four revenue lines.1
  3. Rewards & services Rewards $18.4B. Card Member rewards 18,409 and Card Member services 6,057. Amex says it offers "incentives to drive spending on our various card products and increase customer engagement, including our Membership Rewards and Amex Offers programs".1
  4. More cards, more spend 86.6M cards (+4%). Proprietary cards-in-force 86.6 million (+4%), average proprietary basic Card Member spending $25,453 (+3%), net card fees 9,993 (average fee per card $117, +14%).1

Net interest income (17,364) and service fees (7,471) also add to revenue but are outside this spend loop. 1

Per employee

About 76,800 employees at year-end: about 25,900 in the US and 50,900 elsewhere. 1

Revenue per employee
$940K
72,229M ÷ 76,800 1
Profit per employee
$141K
Net income ÷ employees 1
Pre-tax income per employee
$180K
Salaries & benefits per employee
$117K
9,016M ÷ 76,800 (derived) 1
Avg. hourly wage
Not disclosed
The 10-K gives headcount only, no pay data 1

Where the money comes from

American Express reports four business segments and revenue by region. Regional figures include management allocations. It does not disclose revenue by US state.

Revenue by source, 20251

Discount revenue$37.4B
Net interest income$17.4B
Net card fees$10.0B
Service fees & other$7.5B

Net interest income = interest income 25.6B − interest expense 8.2B. The four lines add to 72,229, the 10-K's total revenues net of interest expense. 1

Revenue by region, 20251

United States$56.0B
EMEA$7.1B
APAC$5.2B
Latin America, Canada & Caribbean$4.2B

Excludes −$271M unallocated. Regions are based in part on internal allocations that involve management's judgment. 1

Segments, 20251

SegmentRevenue (net)Pre-tax income
U.S. Consumer Services$34.8B$6.8B
Commercial Services$16.9B$3.7B
International Card Services$13.0B$1.6B
Global Merchant & Network Services$7.8B$4.0B
Corporate & other−$0.3B−$2.3B
Total$72.2B$13.8B

The decisions behind the numbers

Premium fees
$10.0B

net card fees, up 18%

Net card fees were $7.3B in 2023, $8.4B in 2024 and $10.0B in 2025. The average fee per card rose from $92 to $117 over two years, as more members move to fee-paying premium cards. The 10-K credits new Card Member acquisition and product refreshes.1

Rewards
43%

of revenue goes to rewards, benefits and merchant incentives

Card Member rewards 18.4B + business development 6.5B + Card Member services 6.1B = $30.9B, or 43% of net revenue (derived). That is the biggest cost, ahead of salaries ($9.0B) and marketing ($6.3B). Card Member services rose 27% on the new US Platinum benefits.1

Merchant fees
2.24%

average discount rate, falling slowly

Discount revenue was 2.24% of billed business in 2025, 2.27% in 2024 and 2.29% in 2023. Billed business grew 8% to $1,669.8B. The 10-K cites shifts in geographic and merchant spend mix.1

Interest
$17.4B

net interest income, up 12%

Interest income $25.6B less interest expense $8.2B. Growth came from revolving loan balances, partly offset by lower rates. Customer deposits rose $13.0B in the year.1

Capital return
$7.6B

returned to shareholders

$5.3B of buybacks (16.8 million shares at an average $312.87) and $2.3B of dividends, about 71% of net income to common, per the 10-K. The quarterly dividend goes from $0.82 to $0.95 starting with the Q1 2026 declaration.1

Five years of results

Revenue net of interest expense and net income by year, from the 10-Ks. Buybacks here are cash paid for repurchases and other (cash flow statement), which includes shares withheld for taxes, so they differ slightly from the $5.3B of repurchases above.

  1. 2021
    Revenue $42.4B, net income $8.1B. Buybacks $7.7B, dividends $1.4B.2
  2. 2022
    Revenue $52.9B, net income $7.5B. Buybacks $3.5B, dividends $1.6B.2
  3. 2023
    Revenue $60.5B, net income $8.4B. Buybacks $3.7B, dividends $1.8B.1
  4. 2024
    Revenue $65.9B, net income $10.1B. Buybacks $6.0B, dividends $2.0B.1
  5. 2025
    Revenue $72.2B (up 10%), net income $10.8B. Buybacks $5.8B, dividends $2.3B.1

Sources

  1. American Express Company, Form 10-K for the year ended Dec 31, 2025 (filed Feb 6, 2026)
  2. SEC EDGAR XBRL companyfacts, American Express Co (CIK 0000004962): annual figures from each year's 10-K

Figures are as published by each source on the dates shown. Derived numbers say so and show their math.